5 Things Friday

Since yesterday was Thanksgiving, this post will be slightly different than my normal Friday posts.

michaelmilk

Michael got a milky treat on Thanksgiving.

In the past I’ve been a big complainer. It’s way easier to point out why I’m annoyed with things than why I enjoy things. I’ve been doing a bit of reflecting these past few months and part of the purpose of the 5 Things Friday series was to force myself to appreciate things just a bit more. Even if they’re only small things. Here are a few things I’m thankful for this year:

  • School: This is one that I can complain about until I turn blue in the face. Finals are next week and to say that I’m feeling overwhelmed would be a massive understatement. I’m frustrated with group assignments and uncomfortable with my own projects. See how easy it is to start complaining…? Either way, I’m thankful to be here. I worked my butt off to get into USC and I feel lucky to be able to go to graduate school. I love my classes and my professors and I can’t wait to see what next semester holds.
  • The Boyf: This past year has been one of the most challenging and trying, not just for me but for our relationship. He’s always been extremely supportive and he’s talked me off of the ledge so many times when I just wanted to throw my computer across the room and give up on school. I’m so thankful that I have him in my life and that we’re in a good place.
  • My Family: I have an extremely large family. Unfortunately, no one actually acts like a family. I have family out here in southern California that I’m pretty tight-knit with and I love that I’m finally nearby. Though I don’t get to see them nearly as much as I would like, I know that they’re never too far away. It’s a nice feeling.
  • Dear Sweet Michael Jackson: I’ve always known that I was bound to end up a crazy cat lady. It’s been in my blood since I was 4 and dressed as a cat for Halloween a good seven years in a row. I was doomed from the start. I couldn’t imagine my life without a pet and I’m glad I have this little dingbat to keep me company and snuggle with me on those extra tough days.

There it is. Things I love and things I’m thankful for. After this upcoming week I’ll have a full month off (WHAT?!) and I can get back to blogging a bit more.

Leave a Reply

