A Day at the LACMA

Last Thursday my cousin and I spent the day together starting with breakfast at Blu Jam cafe followed by a visit to the Los Angeles County Museum of Art. I’ve been wanting to visit for the longest time and when she suggested we go I was so excited to finally check it out. I don’t know why I thought the LACMA was strictly modern and contemporary art, but it isn’t. They have a fantastic variety of art  and we had a blast exploring the museum on a day that was pretty empty. I snapped a few photos of my favorite pieces along the way.

licthenstein

Lichtenstein. I’ve loved pop art since a high school art project

billiardwarhol

Some Warhol in the background.

picasso

Picasso

birdie

Found this little guy in the section dedicated to Art of The Ancient World which I didn’t even know existed.

kitty

Of course I found a cat…

otherkitty

…or two. I found this handsome tiger in the Japanese Art Pavilion.

cat2

Found this on a beautiful trunk with the Southeast Asian art.

shiva

I wish I could remember who this was. My religious studies minor from college is obviously failing me. Time to crack a book.

meandmandy

My cousin and I in front of the yellow rain. Unfortunately since it had been pouring all morning we didn’t make it over to the famous “Urban Light” sculpture. The Boyf has been wanting to make it to the LACMA as well so I’m sure we’ll make it over there soon enough an dI’ll finally get the opportunity to play in the lights.

Leave a Reply

