Best of 2013

Instead of doing my typical 5 Things Friday posts I’m going to do two New Year themed sort of posts. This one will be the things that I’ve loved in 2013 and the next post will be sort of a New Year’s Resolution post. I absolutely hate making resolutions since I sort of think it’s corny, but I know it’s inevitable to think about changes every time a new year rolls around. On to 2013…

TT

ONE// USC

This August I started graduate school at USC. I had somewhat of a non-conventional undergrad experience. After I graduated high school I started class at the University of New Mexico and I hated everything. I didn’t have any advising while I was in high school. I didn’t know what I waned to do or why I was there so I never showed up to class. My GPA was absolutely abysmal and after I was put on academic probation I gave up and moved to New York. Once I finally went back to UNM I knew I was ready to be in school and take it seriously. I found something I loved (Classics) and joined clubs and groups knowing that I would need something on my resume to make up for the fact that my GPA would never be stellar. Once grad school application time rolled around I knew I had to be at the top of my game to be able to compete with some of the students who didn’t have the same setbacks that I did. I worked my butt off to get into USC and I’m so proud of myself for getting to this point. I’m not one to boast but this was the first semester since possibly middle school that I’m made all A’s. To be fair, Latin and Greek were pretty tough.

TWO// My move to California

I was born and raised here in Los Angeles. I moved to Albuquerque, New Mexico when I was 11 and though I was happy to be in a place where I was close to family, there was always something missing. My family wasn’t close and I never felt like New Mexico was home. I visited Southern California frequently since I do have family out here and every time I left I felt like I was leaving home. I’m not sure if this is the place I want to spend the rest of my life, there are most certainly some things that I could do without (parking, traffic, etc), but I’ve felt so much happier since I’ve been out here. This past year was probably one of the worst I can remember and I’ve been looking at the move out here as a fresh start. It’s been an opportunity to make some changes, got away from some negative influences and finally do things right.

photo

THREE// Michael Jackson

This little cat-beast has always made my day better. I always tell people that he’s not a typical cat. He sleeps next to me in bed (sometimes even on my pillow), he follows me from room to room, he’s extra talkative and he has such a big personality. I was extremely stressed out thinking about moving with him since we drove a U-Haul from Albuquerque, but he was an angel. He got sick and threw up the first day, but I caught it in time and was able to clean it up quickly. I knew he couldn’t help getting sick. Other than that he slept most of the time (surprise, surprise), he hopped from bed to bed in the hotel rooms and he kept calm when we had a tire blow out close to Barstow. I know they say that people who have pets live longer and I definitely believe it.

PI

FOUR// Pink Iron

Speaking of moving to LA and making changes, one thing I knew I wanted to do when I moved out here was to join a gym and be consistent about it. I’ve had gym memberships in the past, they’ve been huge “big box” gyms with tons of equipment that I didn’t know how to use and was too intimidated to learn and the classes were crammed full of people and I felt behind and out of touch. I knew that I wanted something a little more than just a big gym. Whether it be yoga, pilates, or kickboxing, I knew I wanted a gym where I would actually get a decent work out and not just run on the treadmill for 30 minutes and call it a day. I bought a Groupon for a place called Pink Iron and the rest was history. It’s an all women’s gym, which I didn’t think I would really care about at first, but I actually love it so much. No one is catty or bitchy and everyone is super supportive. I know I’m not as strong or quick as some of the girls but I never feel intimidated. I want to work harder to be at their level. I’ve been going for three months and I’ve never felt this great. I love my body and though I don’t think I’ve lost any weight (which I’m not looking to do, I’m pretty happy with my weight) I’ve noticed massive changes in my body and I just love this place so much.

FIVE// The Boyf

I know, I know, he was bound to end up in here somewhere. I can’t lie, we’ve had a rough year. He’s constantly been supportive throughout school and we just get each other. I won’t say too much else, but I’m thankful for the new start we’ve been given out here in California.

Leave a Reply

